The Waiting Room

I was surrounded by people…talking, murmuring, whispering…but I was lost in my train of thoughts…couple of hours ago I was lying in my bed…relaxing, waiting for the alarm to buzz once  more…mom almost crashed my bedroom’s door and told us dad met with an accident…next few minutes were blur…I gained consciousness when I saw dad…tangled in god knows how many small pipes wires weird looking machines…I along with my mom, who was crying silently…my bro who was sitting lost in his thoughts just like me and Vicky who was engrossed in a deep conversation with very close family friend…were waiting for the main doctor…he was the one who would give final verdict  about dad’s condition…and he came six hours later…

Two hours were passed…there was an awkward silence in the room…nobody was talking anymore…the door was opened with a bang…a lady came crashing…she was barefoot carrying a small child…must be around 5 or 6…he was badly injured…soaked in blood…other members of her family came running…few minutes later that lady came sat next to me…she was crying…another woman from her family told her…he would be fine…she lost control and kept crying…that little boy was serious, he was fighting for his life…

I looked around the room…most of the people who were sitting in that room…were waiting for some good news…their faces wet with tears…loved ones consoling them…and suddenly it struck me…their patient might be more serious in comparison to my dad…I closed my eyes and prayed silently for everyone…I wiped my tear soaked face at the corner of my tee…

Few days later my dad got discharged…there were no serious injurious…on my way to the exit I passed through that room once again…there were new faces, some were old…I wanted to know what happened to that small child…but I was too scared to digest the truth…I turned around and ran until I was out in the open

People always say…waiting is a sign of true love & patience…but no one in this world would ever like to stand in THE WAITING ROOM of the hospital…

Love AARYA

This post is part of this week’s WOW Prompt…

5 thoughts on “The Waiting Room”

  1. I know the feeling, Arya. Came back from Mumbai after Dad went in a coma and waiting at hospital can kill you. I couldn’t recognise Dad and was convinced he would not survive. He was discharged from hospital and passed away the next day. I shall write bout it on his barsi.

Would appreciate your opinions and views...I am here to listen...

