I am not a Blind Follower…

I am a firm believer in God…but I don’t believe and follow rituals blindly, just because people are doing some ritual for decades, I should also do it…No Ways…

I started Fasting on every Monday since I was in school…I used to visit temple every Monday morning before leaving for school, there I used to offer milk to LORD SHIVA…I did this for years until the day I went to a different Temple…I bought a packet of milk from the only shop outside the temple gate…as routine I offered the milk, as soon as I came outside, few street children surrounded me…they started asking me for some Prasad (sweet) and money…I gave some money…I started my scooty and went straight to my college…

Something was odd…I don’t know what but I was not happy about it…later that evening I was watching NEWS…every channel was showing Shiv Mandir with devotees offering thousands liters of Milk to Lord Shiva…they covered different angles of Temple and then showed something that changed my whole perception…there in between all that holy mess, milk was flowing like an unstoppable waterfall…

Everyone was enjoying the festival, but nobody was bothered about the liters of milk getting wasted…there onward I decided never ever to offer milk to Lord Shiva…there are thousands of children in our country who never gets a single drop of milk in their entire life…and here, we are wasting thousand liters of milk in name of God, that is so wrong and totally unacceptable…How could we be so irresponsible?

My point is that Lord Shiva has never asked us to offer milk or any kind of other food items…that is a true fact…we are just following these lame people for years…WHY?…Pundit says its written in our holy books…Really…And…Who wrote those books?…Lord Shiva or his assistance Nandi or his son’s Kartikey or Ganesh…alright, no need to give me that tough look…

I am just saying that these Veda Puranas are interpreted by humans, what we follow is the perception of different human over the years, so there are some errors…let’s not go into it, for the time being…I believe that why to waste so much amount of milk when thousands of children are hungry…instead of letting all that milk go into gutter, why not distribute few packets of milk to children as per your pocket…

Well, thanks to that news channel cameraman, who showed me that footage…I still fast on Monday but it’s being more than ten years I have stopped offering milk, instead I make sure that I distribute few packets of milk every year to kids…I am doing my bit…are you???

________________________________________________________________________________________________

I wrote it almost a year ago…when i was a newbie in the blogging world…I thought I would edit it but than I changed my mind…I am reposting it because today Indians are celebrating Maha Shivratri…I hope you can understand my viewpoint…till next time…

Love ❤ AARYA

7 thoughts on “I am not a Blind Follower…”

  1. Spot on Aarya. I fully second your views. We can afford to offer apples and milk when the toddler dying of thirst with his mom on pavement is sneered upon. It’s really sad how we misinterpret religious books and add our own bucket list to appease Gods once a year. After all, we need to show off how big our hearts are, how expensive are the saree and gold ornaments we have when we visit the mandir.

    1. Thanks Vishal 🙂
      I so agree with you…visiting holy places with expensive clothes & jewellery…as if God is going to give some extra blessing for their amazing look…I hope people change their outlook towards religion & rituals…

Would appreciate your opinions and views...I am here to listen...

