Presence of Mind…do we have it???

It happened years ago…I was 16…and used to live in apartment…every evening my Mom and I used to sit on our terrace…there was a river adjacent to my colony and on the other side of the shore…there were lots of big petro chemical Plants & Factories…there lights used to twinkle in night…and we were in love with that amazing view…

It was a normal day…we were walking on terrace…suddenly I felt an urge to pee…so told my mum that I will be back in few minutes…I turned towards the terrace door…glass of water fell from hand and I screamed…my mom ran and she screamed too…our building was on fire…

Without wasting time…I decided to go through the door which was on fire…as I was skinny…I found my way out of the flames…I ran downstairs and alerted everyone else and called 101…that’s unique number for Fire Emergency in India…fortunately by the time Fire Department People arrived…everything was under control…

I think I did save many lives that evening…but one thing which I learnt from that accident…people lose their presence of mind in times of troubles…they are not able to think straight and keep it cool…they just lose control over the situation and starts freaking out…that evening I was the only one who was throwing buckets of water so that fire didn’t spread in other areas…fifteen minutes later their light bulb clicked and they started helping me…and they were way to older than me…

Why do we lose our mind…why can’t we think straight…you might laugh at me…but whenever I pray…I ask God to give me strength to keep it cool in times of trouble…to have presence of mind in difficult times…I don’t know why but it works for me…I have been in couple of tight situations…but I always thought straight…

Here’s tip for every one of you…if you are in trouble…don’t panic…take few deep breath…relax your muscles…try hard to concentrate, how you can help yourself and others…and believe me once you have saved the lives of other…it will give you different kind of pleasure…which is difficult to express…

Very few people have Presence of Mind in difficult times and those who have…did wonders in life

That’s all for today…catch you guys later…

Love AARYA

 

6 thoughts on “Presence of Mind…do we have it???”

  1. Oh wow, what a story about courage! You’re so right about how people lose their presence of mind under extreme circumstances. Thank you for sharing this story, what a lesson in it.

Would appreciate your opinions and views...I am here to listen...

