My Reflection Smiled…I didn’t…

We were celebrating the first birthday of my second cousin…all my family was gathered in Delhi…we woke up early as it was going to be a busy day…we knew working in the Delhi winter was going to be pain in the ass…and thanks to Indra Dev (God of Rains) for making it more chillier…when we really need rains, there would be no sight of a cloud…and in winters it rained for two days…making it hard for organizing the function…

It was a grand party…and it has to be after all it was his first birthday…more than 500 people were invited…by the time it was 9 in the morning…we were on our toes running in every possible direction…catering, decoration, cake, return gifts, drinks and what not…

I was handling the decoration department…and believe me it’s not easy when you have hired your cousins as labors…instead of blowing balloons they were playing with it…I asked them to hang ribbons in beautiful patterns…they started making garlands…finally I have to show them my Durga Avatar, to get back to work…

Whole day flew in hush hush…the clock was ticking 7 in the evening and I was still in the hall making sure everything was intact and at its right place…party was about start in half an hour…I rushed back to the house…most of my family was ready to leave for the venue…looking sparkly and beautiful…I had a quick shower and started dressing…

I picked up the eye liner…my Aunt shouted “Aarya help me, so that I can dress Anshu”

I ran to other room “Hey shona what’s wrong? Why are you crying?” as I picked him up he stopped crying…he wanted some attention but none of us had time for him today…I washed his face…powdered him…and helped my Aunt to dress him…and he was the most handsome dude in the crowd that night…looking too cute in his small tux…

I came to my room, the bed was tempting me so much…whispering “Get some sleep honey, come on I will take you to heaven”

“Sure thing” I whispered too and started applying some make up…I tried Ox Blood Shade from Mac on my lips…I thought it would suit my black dress…but it didn’t…I tired some other shades too…15 minutes later I settled with Ruby Woo…my winged liner was not ready to winged and my hair weren’t cooperating too…it was a bad bad day…I was waiting since months for this evening but I was not my usual self…

I picked up my bag…and took one last look in the mirror…but something was missing…I kept staring at myself…made some poses but…my reflection smiled, I didn’t…I tried hard to push her memories away…in the end I gave up…

My mother in law was so excited for this party…since the day she knew a baby boy is born…she was waiting for the invitation…but before my Uncle could have called her she was gone…Vicky and I were reluctant to came to Delhi…but my family forced us saying “You guys need some fresh air”

We gave in…but now while standing in front of the mirror…I couldn’t help my emotions…my Uncle walked in and hugged me “I know it’s difficult time for you two…but this too shall pass…it’s life dear and we need to move on…we have to play different characters…we have to be an actor sometimes for us and sometimes for others…and the person who can be an better actor…will live happily ever after”

He wiped my tears, hugged me tighter and teased “And your witch like eye makeup will get ruined too”

I smiled…he kissed my forehead and went outside “Have you seen Aarya? She is looking like a witch”

“Hahaha…very funny…it’s fashion” I shouted from room while fixing my makeup

“What…looking like a ghost and scaring the hell out of people” he pulled my leg which is his all-time fav job “We will make Aarya stand in front of the cake, no kid will ask for the cake second time around”

“Mama” everyone in the room was rolling on the floor and I was furious because of his lame comment…

Party was a huge success…from catering to DJ…every arrangement was great…that’s what our guest said…I was hogging Chinese…suddenly I saw my reflection in the mirror…I smiled…but this time I was smiling from my heart…letting her live in my memories…

Love AARYA

This post is part of this week’s Wow Prompt 

4 thoughts on “My Reflection Smiled…I didn’t…”

Would appreciate your opinions and views...I am here to listen...

