The Longest Night…

I remember that evening when dad got a call, I still regret why he picked up the phone…I remember his exact words… “Get ready, we need to leave, your mother in law passed away”

For few seconds I couldn’t believe my ears…I thought I was dreaming…till date I think I am dreaming…there are times when I feel she will walk in or Mummyji will appear on my cellphone…but in last one year that never happened…

That was the longest night of my life…

I saw many strong & powerful women in my life…but no one can beat her…she had a dynamic personality…she was not educated, she hardly knew how to write or read but she had great command over three different languages…she doesn’t know a single word of English…still she went to one of the best Boarding School of India for her kids education…She talked to the Brothers & Sisters of that Boarding School…till her last breath she never learnt the single word of English…but that never stopped her from visiting the most elite places of India…

The kind of personality & confidence she carried…aha…you can hardly find it in a man but I found it in her…if she would have been born in this era I would have digested the reason behind her boldness…but she was 70, not at all educated, came from a small town…yet she was always self-reliant and got a nerve to live alone on her terms…she had the confidence of talking to the rowdy man of village and law…she was never scared of anyone ever…India is a male dominating country and she belonged to one of the most male dominating communities of India…but she broke so many society taboos…

I never saw her angry…or losing her mind…she always carried cool temperament…there was some charisma in her words…she used to win the hearts of people so easily, even if she had met them for first time…she always knew how to play with words like a true royal…

She was brilliant in her Kitchen…initially I used think every man loves the food cooked by his mom…same might be the case with Vicky…but with time I realized that’s not true…she had taste & flavors in her hands…who can turn even a grass in mouthwatering dish…very few people in the world has those kind of magic…sad her cooking skills & many amazing recipes are gone with her…

She was unbelievable in management skills…you visit her any time of the day…her house would always be spick and span…you open any wardrobe, any cabinet…everything would be in order…she knew how to increase the life of anything…whether its cloth or furniture…

She had amazing taste in everything…from clothes to cars…from accessories to high heels…she was royal….in fact she was too classy to be a royal…she always used to wear crisp Calcutta Cotton Sarees or Pure Chiffon & Georgette…gosh I miss it all…

I will not say she was a great mother or a great wife…but she was unique in her own way…after education any woman could become confident, that’s no big deal…today’s women got nerve because so many factors are supporting her…but she was from different time…it was taboo to give voice to your thoughts…in that era she broke the chains…she was dabang but always maintained the elegance and poise of a lady

For a long time I thought she doesn’t like me because I belong to another cast…but with time I realized she doesn’t like anyone not her husband not her children or anyone else in the world…she loved only two things in her life…money and herself…

She loved her elder son the most…her heart was in him…she was so blind in his love…that she left her younger son alone forever…she never asked him whether his younger son is alive or not…till her last conversation she was favoring the apple of her eye…and in the end the apple of her eyes swallowed her…

She lived like a queen…she had everything in her life Power, Money, Status…but she never had a family…she cut the people who loved her and always ran behind those who never loved her…

I will not say I loved her whole heartily…I guess she is responsible for my feelings, she never let me came near her…but she left a hole behind…Vicky and I always thought…she is there, so what if she is far away…now she is no more…

I always thought someday with time things will get fine between us…I will learn all those amazing recipes and will enjoy some gossiping and shopping…which was her all-time favorite job…but that day never came and will never come now…

I am glad that I met an amazing personality like her…if she would have born in this century…she would have made something concrete out of her life…she was the woman of substance…

I don’t know where are you and what are you doing…but it was my pleasure to know a person like you…I couldn’t describe how much we both miss you…we miss you so much that we never talk about you…we just keep thinking about you when we are alone and no one can see we are crying…you will live in our memories…you will live in our heart…till the end of time…

In loving memory of my mother in law…missing you…

IMG_20131219_141742

 Love ❤ AARYA

 

One thought on “The Longest Night…”

  1. Guess, we mellow with age and whatever happens, happens for good in a way. Glad to know that despite not having access to education resources, she was a strong woman. I am sure if she was living in today’s times, she would have made it big.

Would appreciate your opinions and views...I am here to listen...

