I AM NOT MENTALLY CHALLENGED…I AM JUST…DIFFERENT…

I recently presented a paper on Mentally Challenged

I have seen few mentally challenged pupil in my life…but they never disturbed me so deeply until I researched on them…

Till few years back we used to call them Mentally Retarded or Mentally Handicapped or Abnormal…but nowadays psychologist call them Mentally Challenged

Many people have this misconception that mental retardation is a disease but in reality it is a state of mind…of course it usually runs in the family but sometimes due to severe illness or trauma during childhood can also cause retardation in a normal child…

There are four levels of retardation…Mild, Moderate, Severe & Profound…people with Mild & Moderate Retardation can live a normal life like you and me…with proper guidance and support…but Severe Cases suffers the most…and in case of Profound, well they need 247 365 days a person who can feed them, clean them, wipe them…in short they are dependent on others for everything…

Unfortunately I have seen a Profound case very closely in my immediate friend circle…and a glimpse of her life can sent a shiver down your spine…We should thank God for giving us a normal life…I know many of us have faced lots of problems in life but we are at way better place in comparison to these Mentally Challenged People…

color-packagingI also learnt with patience and constant revision and training…it is possible to teach Mentally Challenged Children…I know it’s a difficult task but it’s possible…nowadays in many Special Schools they taught them crafts and other activities like basket making or candle making kind of stuff…so that they can earn some livelihood…

In most cases they are not able to complete their education but they do reach the basic level…they can read, write and count a little…

You can’t motivate them…you can’t talk to them…you can’t make them understand things…you can’t scold them…because these Special Children don’t understand our language…they understand only one language and that is…The Language Of Love

You show them some love and then observe their behavior…you can see marked changes in them…the only mantra while dealing with these Special Children is to Have Patience…their repetitive mistakes might irritate us but patience is the only solution…

We need to change our attitude towards them…there is no need for us to show sympathy…there is no need to protect them or ridicule them…instead we should provide them a platform…where they can grow and develop with their own limitations and strengths…

They are little slower…rstsfig1a

They are little awkward…

But our little support can make a huge difference in their life…

That’s AARYA signing off for today…

 

13 thoughts on “I AM NOT MENTALLY CHALLENGED…I AM JUST…DIFFERENT…”

  1. Empathy is the word I would use more than sympathy. I worked with mentally challenged, retarded, whatever you want to call them. To me they where just kids that where not the normal kids of our age and found out while working with them that I had quite a lot of fun with them and of course they too had fun with me, a few hours for them to have a laugh as well as me….everybody wins. But I think, at least in western societies that this tabu word of retarded, is dissolving little by little.

    1. Its good to know things are changing in your part of the world…and I so agree with you Charly…these are fun to be with…you spend few hours and you will forget that you are a grown up…thanks for sharing your thoughts 🙂

  2. “Have Patience…their repetitive mistakes might irritate us but patience is the only solution…”
    –Very well said. I have a son with Asperger’s Sydrome, high functioning autism. Sometimes it’s very difficult because his attention span is so short and I get impatient. However, I’m getting better, thanks to time and experience.
    🙂

    1. Thanks Staci…I am sorry to hear about your son…but I can understand your problem too…because sometimes we are really stressed and if these kids are not cooperating in that particular moment…we sometimes burst just out of stress…its great to know that you can talk about your son openly…I have seen sometimes parents feel embarassed…

      1. Oh, no need to be sorry about my son. He’s a blessing. He doesn’t look or even seem like he has high functioning autism. It’s just when you get o know him a bit better and see how he gets frustrated so easily and a different time communicating what’s inside his head at times. He also has a very difficult time focussing, and for this reason I am taking him out of school and will be homeschooling him.
        Thanks Aarya.
        🙂

      2. Thats good…I know there are kids who seems normal…only their parents and doctor can figure out their problems…
        Good Luck with his home schooling…I am sure he will do great after all he gotta mother like you 🙂

  3. True Aarya. I remember in Veronica decides to die, the female character confined to a mental hospital says, They are different from me, I am not different. I think, mentally challenged have the right to have education and they are normal people.

Would appreciate your opinions and views...I am here to listen...

