KARVA CHAUTH…festival of love and only love…

“OMG…you are looking so pretty…what’s the occasion?”

“It’s Karvachauth”

“Karva what?”

63153_113293175497455_1854137543_nYeah you heard me right it’s KARVA CHAUTH…it’s one of the festival celebrated in northern region of India…all married women fast for their husband’s good health and longevity…and by fast I mean they are not allowed to have a single drop of water too…

On this day…wife prepares lots of yummy dishes like kachori, dahi bade, phool gobi ki sabzi (cauliflower), kadi chawal, yummm…it’s dawat-e-khaas …well I like KARVA CHAUTH because it means cauliflower season is here 😛 …

In the evening wifey dear gets ready as if she is about get married again… of course with the same man 😀 believe me today every married woman looks like bride…beautiful and blushing…and today most of the husband’s go gaga over their wives 😉  …and when KARVA CHAUTH falls on weekend…yippee…we can extend the night 😀

Now after giving arghya(offering water) to Chand (Moon)…we wives can eat…but problem is this Chand I mean MOON…he will show all the tantrums like a lady…everyday he will be outside my balcony by 730…but on KARVA CHAUTH he will come by 9…now you people tell me is this fair?…I mean I am starving and thirsty…and he is lost in his own world…60007163a8bb0d87dd67c84001947f2b

But KARVA CHAUTH’s Moon is the beautiful moon of the year…if you don’t believe me…don’t forget to check it out in the evening…of course there is one condition…check the moon rise timings and don’t miss it…you have to be patient…after all it’s his day…so he will be in his own grandeur attitude…but I can bet you will be awestruck by its beauty…he will make slow and steady entry like a bride and will look red in color like a blushing bride…

Well there is story behind celebrating KARVA CHAUTH…here is the link you can read it for more information…http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Karva_Chauth

You must be thinking what am I doing…why am I talking to you on KARVA CHAUTH…you see my darling Moon is went outside due some urgent work…so am waiting for him 😦

But you guys have awesome weekend…and a HAPPY KARVA CHAUTH to all my Indian readers…love ❤  ya…

Waiting for my Moon…AARYA   

4 thoughts on “KARVA CHAUTH…festival of love and only love…”

  1. Hi I understand that Karwa Chauth is a personal matter and everyone has the right to celebrate. Honestly, I strongly feel its a by product of the patriarchal cum capitalist system which is perpetuated. A tale or exploitation. Well, that’s my personal opinion. Let’s give it a thought!

    1. LoL…I swear I was rolling on the floor after reading your comment…I also can’t understand few festivals and culture we Indians follow…I can’t understand why all fast and pooja is only for women…why there is no fast or festival dedicated to women…
      I don’t like it when people follow things blindly…in many families till date they want their daughter-in-laws to fast without water…now that’s stupidity…time has changed so we need to bend the rules and customs…wives should be allowed to drink and have fruits…but one thing which I am loving about today’s husband…they also fast with their wives 🙂

    1. Aww…I also love the feeling and atmosphere created because of Karva Chauth…even day and night fighting couples forget their differences specially on this day…thanks for visiting 🙂

Would appreciate your opinions and views...I am here to listen...

