WE…means…WOMEN EMPOWERMENT…

Few days ago…I participated in Elocution…my topic was “Are Women Really Empowered?”

I did some research and came to know that WOMEN EMPOWERMENT basically means creating an environment where she can increase her strengths politically, spiritually, socially & economically…

It is a very small meaning of WOMEN EMPOWERMENT…otherwise it has a very vast meaning…

I understood one thing…it is all about giving independence to women…so that she can create her own identity…not accepting the identities created by others or society…where she can explore her own thoughts, emotions, desires & thinking…it is all about believing in yourself & being honest to yourself…not feeling ashamed when you are actually enjoying something…

To have the courage to fight against the society taboo…to have freedom of speech, freedom of choice, freedom to express one’s idea…it means unlocking the wings of women…so that she can fly high…so that she can understand herself better…so that she can identify her true self…

After understanding the true meaning of WOMEN EMPOWERMENT…I realized women are not empowered…if at all women are actually empowered then the crime rate against women in India should have been decreased…but reality is way too different…

If women of India would have been empowered the bill that is passed after Delhi Gang Rape Case…it would have been passed years ago…but women in India are not politically empowered…domestic violence, acid attacks, molestation, eve teasing, rape…all these crime would have been decreased…but they are not…

There are many families and communities in India…which cannot tolerate the voice of the women in their house forget about expressing a thought or a dream…they would be immediately slashed by male members of the family…

You might be thinking what rubbish I am talking about…Sonia Gandhi, Indira Nooyi, Kalpna Chawla…have changed the face of women of India…but they are only a bunch of women who are blessed…otherwise majority of women are still living in doom…the change cannot come immediately…it will take a long time…we need to start from the root…which is education…

I am fortunate enough that I am empowered…my family gave me the opportunity to study and be independent…my family let me live on my terms…they let me fly high…

And today as an empowered woman…I feel that it is my duty and responsibility to empower the other women…are you empowered???…what is your opinion about women empowerment???…

That’s AARYA signing of for today…

 

One thought on “WE…means…WOMEN EMPOWERMENT…”

  1. You have a nice post and I can agree women are not empowered. I just hate your definition. This is how it should read:

    Women Empowerment is where women don’t take no for answer and keep going till their dreams come true. Women stand up for themselves. Women are now fighting back. Women make their own situation to increase her strengths politically, spiritually, socially & economically. Women are deciding to take care of their daughters. Women are now working, fighting, and dying to see the change.

    It’s sad where everybody in society thinks we women, or any, should wait for what others do for us. Never, never should we wait for someone else to act. We should be teachers our daughters to act. Just like my dad taught me to change a tire, I never have to wait in the dark, hoping some man will stop and help.

    I also looked up the women you listed. I don’t know if I can say they have made a difference.

    The first is a politician that has not fought for the government to pay for a center where young girls learn to defend themselves. In all her years, that I could find, she helped get on medical school built for women. That doesn’t shout a ’empowerment.’

    The second now lives in the US and I couldn’t find where her money or time goes to the women of India. Nor could I find anything that mentions her involvement in women’s fights.

    The last is an astronaut. Couldn’t find anything else significant. I could be wrong. I didn’t spend but a half hour looking them up.

    I do agree that women should have empowerment but no where should we have to wait for someone to open the door. We need to be our own Superman!!

Would appreciate your opinions and views...I am here to listen...

