“Lost & Found”

This time I had a real story. A tale from my past.  A kind of confession I am about to make. In my school days….. I was a kid who follow her parents without a single thought. They always told me to help others. Never to hurt with words……. even if other spits brutally on you…… I was not allowed to use bad words……… Studying hard was a kind of hard fast ritual for me…….. No matter what happens I have to study…….. My parents suggested me their best…….. they themselves didnt have much exposure…. from where they would get for me……….. they believed their whole lives,” Effort never gets wasted”. Thats what they teach me till date.

With that small cozy world, where I was unaware of the mind games, I used to believe everyone’s word.  For me whole world was in two colors,”Black & White”. No grey for me. So dumb I was…. I in fact never questioned to me whether the guy really need help or double checking with me…….. I used to simply go a mile ahead to help others. I am talking about my school days when I was in my 11th and 12th class.

We have a family friend. We were good. My parents have good repo with them. Not me any more. Mickey was a family friend. He was one year younger to me,  more like a younger brother. He wasn’t good into studies. He had problem with Biology and Hindi while he was in 10th. Micky’s Mom,  asked me to help him. He used to score between 50% to 60% in finals. She was very much depressed with that. She asked me to help. I as a obliged child said yes and started teaching him. I helped him in science and with his other subjects. No doubt Mickey worked hard. And with that he scored 86.4% in his finals. His mom was on top of the world. Every mom will be.

Then I moved to 12th and Mickey moved to 11th. I was busy with my studies, as its the board exam. 12 th is like a deciding exam to enter into a good Institute…. and secondly entrance exam preparation…….. I was tensed because I didnt have any coaching for my entrance exams. I was struggling myself…… and Mickey came to me in middle of this mess for help again. He had problem with biology. My boards were about to begin in a month time. But he asked me to help him otherwise will fail……. I again took time to help him out…… helped him……so that he can pass……..Fortunately….. he passed….

I passed with 83  %  with Science and maths. But I was trashed…….. I was not in position to take admission to  course I want to. I cried and cried. Every one was low with marks I got. The most hurt was my father. He wanted me to be Doctor….. who can help poors in getting free treatment. It wasnt me whose dream was broke……….It was my father’s years of patience and hope that broke…I still have that hitch in me….. I can feel that sharp pinch in my heart till date………….

I was still hoping and praying to happen some good………. people started laughing and mocking at me…….. some started to say that I didnt study well……….. And Micky’s mom said me , since my mind was not into studies and I didnt put effort I didnt get marks… I wasnt looking for empathy from her…….. But I wasnt looking for that acerbic sarcasm too, she poured  me on that day….. she came to my home often to know where I am heading too…………

Once she stopped by and said me in public…….. that I shall take admission into any B grade college (low grade college)……. I couldnt control my tears on that day….. I ran to my mom to ask….. what wrong I did?……… What she will say to me….. She herself was all in tears…………. My father was mum to all……… I didnt do anything wrong……. What just happened was that I couldnt score above 90%…….

Still I grab myself……. hold me all…. waited for time to come…….. the entrance exams result were out…….. I got admission into one of the  elite engineering college of India………. His mom again come to me…….. and told to my mom…. that she forgot to tell us about a coaching institution that helps in preparing for Entrance Exams………. My Parents were shocked………. My mom was hurt….. We helped his kid so much…….She did this to her kid…………. still my parents said nothing…….. the relation moved smooth….

After a year Micky…… went to many coaching……..put efforts and scored 90%…………. I and my family congratulated him and Aunty………… on that day she said to me…….. “you know my son worked hard, so he made it………..you didnt so you couldnt”, I felt ashamed……. someone saying such words to me in front of my papa…..it was terrible for me…….. because I knew what he was going through…………. And with all process…… Micky took admission to same College I did………….. When ever we crossed, If I smiled to him,,,,,,,,, he turned his head……… as he didnt know me……… I was hurt because I felt used and cheated……

It was hurtful in those days………. now it didnt……….. but that time taught me and my parent’s the most significant lesson of my life…….I try to follow it till date…………..1) Never ever try to help others beyond your limits….. otherwise you become helpless…. 2) Check whether one really needs help…….. because many true helpless remains unattended in line……..

Today I am unaffected with those days, celebrating it as first lesson from life…………..

VEDA

101 challenge

3 thoughts on ““Lost & Found””

  1. It does not feel nice to be used like that and I am sorry you had to experience it…but I am certain in life you will succeed a lot more than any entrance exam because of who you are as a person 🙂

Would appreciate your opinions and views...I am here to listen...

