Sick of Lame Traditions…

It’s a mere coincidence that my today’s First Post is inspired by Real World Conversation…so instead of writing a new post I am going to submit my First Post for Writing 101 Challenge...Enjoy 😀

Yesterday I went to the Vegetable Market near my house…out there a I met a lady vendor who was selling veggies…it was very windy last evening so that lady vendor was struggling with her PALLU (the end of saree)…in India mostly women are supposed to cover their head with PALLU (Veil)…as shown in the picture…suddenly her PALLU flew in the air and her long tresses started blowing in the wind…she stopped weighing veggies in between so that she could cover her head with saree and  she said something which moved me to write today’s post…

“India has developed so much madam, but this PALLU Pratha (Veil) is still there and it is never going to leave its roots…people are still so orthodox when it comes to taking a PALLU…now you tell me madam, I am here to do my business but half of the time I am managing my PALLU…and my in-laws keep an eye on me by sending someone or the other to check whether I have covered my head or not…God knows when will the mindset of people change”

I didn’t say a word to her because there were other customers too and I didn’t want them to think that I am a feminist…but I was shocked by her frankness, she wasn’t educated may be 10th or 12th pass, still understands the difference between being orthodox and being untraditional…

I never understood what’s with Indians and this PALLU Pratha…I mean we are living in Gen Y century and people still want their daughters and daughter-in-laws to veil…WHY???…

People say you should cover your head in front of elders…it shows that you respect them …REALLY…Thanks to my dad and his very huge family…I have seen daughter-in-laws who remains behind the veil 247 but abuse their elders day and night with all the possible fuck words…

They say you should cover your head it will protect you from Rape and Teasing…REALLY…if it was so true than I guess all these Muslim Countries should have zero crime rate against women but reality is far far away…

I don’t believe that a PALLU or a Veil symbolizes that the lady respects you and she has all the manners of a perfect daughter in law…Just like Beauty…Respect also lies in the eyes of the beholder…it comes from heart…what is the use of doing PALLU if your daughter in law abuse you in front of hundred people or whole family…instead we should let them be free of this orthodox tradition…

Wearing some specific kind of attire or covering your head cannot force anyone to give some respect to you…and the more conservatively you behave the more resistant the women will become…so why don’t we try to strike a proper balance…give your daughter in laws freedom from the veil…trust me you will find an instant change in their behavior…

We are women and born with an instinct that who wants what…who is right and who is wrong…we know how to maintain our family’s dignity…trust me no women in this world wants to get raped or teased even in her wildest dreams…

And in this post I am talking about real women who understands the difference between illusion and reality…who are confident, smart and fearless…who believe in living life on their terms…yet they always know how to maintain the perfect poise and dignity of a Lady…just believe in her and give her own space…

That’s AARYA signing off for today…I am in no mood for love ❤

This PALLU Pratha always sets me off :\  …and don’t talk about these asshole men who forces their wives and daughter in laws to veil…why don’t they try to veil for a day…than we will ask how was the day…SUCKERS…

 

18 thoughts on “Sick of Lame Traditions…”

  1. You have made some powerful statements in this post. I can approach this subject only from a distance because I am not only a male, but of a different faith. First Corinthians, Chapter 11 of the Holy Bible, briefly touches on this subject. If I were a Bible scholar I might have more to say. But I’m not.

    1. Thank you so much Scott…I appreciate your views…usually men forces women to Veil…otherwise who would want to be covered 247 365 days in a VEIL…

  2. I have found traditions, in many ways, are an attempt to keep control of people. Even in the Christian church there are traditions that people have adopted and treat as Christian facts. Many things that are tradition have even been things interpreted out of context. The only reason I might would want a woman to wear something to hide her is because I didn’t want anyone else to see how beautiful she was. 🙂 But then I think why don’t I want everyone to know? 🙂
    I love your passion in your writing. I love hearing about your culture and what it is really like. News programs mean nothing to me. This is where we get the real information. As for you not wanting love…well…
    Much Love and Much Respect
    Ronovan

    1. Oh Ron…it sucks out here why do we women need to cover their head there is no logic behind it…people are following these traditions blindly, custom has been started centuries ago…why it started nobody wants to know that…now who are orthodox have misinterpreted the traditions and everyone is following like lames…
      I love hearing about your culture…well thats the history teacher inside you is talking 😀
      Jokes apart I am glad that you take so much interest in reading my blog and leave valuable comments…Love AARYA

      1. I think that if people leave comments and show interest in articles such as this one that really matter then it will encourage more articles and writings like this to be shared. Your articles are among my favorites I get to read. And I am never disappointed nor do I ever walk away the same person I was when I started reading.

      2. Its good to know that you like my writing…and I will proudly take it as a compliment after all its coming from an awesome and inspiring writer…thank you so much Sir Ronovon 🙂

      3. Your topics are wonderful. They generate discussion and thought. That is something I would like to be able to do some day. I entertain and give people a moment of pause, but you really bring passion and realism to your work. I have to overcome whatever it is that blocks me from doing that. I admire that courage in you.

      4. Well that is what I exactly feek about your topics…I guess its good thing…that we feel this way about others blog or writing style…it shows we are so eager to learn and improve…

  3. Nice post. People spend so much time with fake traditions that don’t serve a purpose instead of using that energy to be polite and use self-control. That’s part of treating others well. No one cares about veils unless they are either steeped in that tradition or trying to control women when they can’t even control themselves.

    1. Sometimes I feel that people made these kind of tradition compulsory just to control women…and today when we have advanced so much old school traditions look lame and stupid…
      Thanks for visiting and appreciating my lil effort…I appreciate it 🙂

  4. Nice powerful writing. Very well written. Forcing someone to put veil is a crime I think. Just because men can’t keep their lust in check? Covering head while cooking or in sun is okay. But covering from head to toe always is a torture. Elder women of house also force other women to do it. When will it change.

    1. You know we saying aurat hi aurat ki dushman…its just like that…when elder women will support the men of the house how could expect that things will change around you…thank you for appreciating…do keep visiting…love Aarya 🙂

  5. Powerful post. It requires bravery and out-of-the-box thinking to buck tradition with thoughtful curiosity. It’s different than sheer rebellion, it’s inquisitiveness, which is the enemy of rules. Many traditions start off with reasons that made sense, but whether ancient ways make sense now – is a question we must answer personally, accepting the accompanying consequences. As my mom oft said: “The easy way is the hard way in the end.” Meaning: consider carefully – sometimes blind following of rules is easy, sometimes it’s not. As you say – it’s in the eye of the beholder.

    1. I so much agree with you Wendy…why cant people understand this that tradition made centuries ago must have been fit for that era and there must be concrete reasons behind it…but now time has changed and we need to change to…thank you so much Wendy and sharing such a insightful thought…love Aarya 🙂

      1. You are most welcome. People tend to fear change, afraid they will lose what is good about tradition, while downplaying their terror of what’s new. Like is complicated. Keep asking the hard questions, though!

  6. You go girl!! I’m a 100% with you! Its definitely one of the most terrible ‘prathas’..i watched one of my dear friends turn from happy super talented rock chick to docile unhappy angry ‘gharelu bahu’ under the veil very quickly. It was devastating to watch a spirit crush under meaningless tradition.

    1. Oh…I am so sorry for your friend…but this is one of the most useless Pratha in our culture…I was always against it and still am…I got married in Rajasthani family and on the very day I said No for a Pallu…toay I am the only bahu who never keeps Pallu on and everyone else is jealous…but we need to speak up and protest it until they will keep exploiting us in the name of tradition…thanks for passing by and sharing your thoughts…keep visiting…love Aarya 🙂

Would appreciate your opinions and views...I am here to listen...

