Mobile & Money…can you handle it???

Nowadays having a great phone or gadget is a must, whether you are a student or housewife or working…and a good phone will cost you minimum 30000 bucks, and if you want to have more premium range, be ready to pay anywhere between 30000 to 60000…but my question is WHY AND FOR WHAT???…

People say it’s a Status Symbol…Really????…who says so…I always thought carrying a Louis Vuitton or Rolls Royce was Status Symbol, but nowadays your mobile decides your Status Symbol…well I belong to the lowest class as I am using Nokia 1100 since almost a year…

You see everywhere, everyone is using expensive mobiles, and they say good phones provide them access to better application and better internet …all right agree to it, but do these school and college going kids really needs an expensive phone, they use it carelessly and change it in every 6 months…I don’t remember that I ever needed a phone while attending school & college, I was addicted to net but I used to access it either from home or college…

In fact my society watchman uses some Samsung mobile which is around 20000…I know it’s difficult to believe but it’s true…you can find expensive mobiles in the hands of labors, vendors, in fact one of my neighbors maid carries a 15000 rupees mobile…but how could these people afford to have such expensive phones…

Today also I can carry a Nokia 1100, even to Taj, and I will feel as confident as I would be anywhere else…once I went for shopping to one of the very Premium Shop in Hyderabad, and I was waiting for my number on the cash counter, suddenly my phone started ringing, the call was from Mom in Law so I picked it up…as I put back my phone in my clutch, the guy standing next to me, gave me a look…he was not able to believe it that a girl who is wearing expensive clothes and jewelry, who has bought just two items of 10000 bucks, and has arrived in Honda City…how could carry a cheap mobile…I returned back his look and told him “Dude Class doesn’t come from carrying an expensive mobile or wearing expensive clothes, it comes from your attitude and level of confidence…”he was totally zapped because he was not expecting any comment from me at least…and that too in English… 😉

Recently my hubby also bought me a tab, so that I can write for my blog easily on it…I resisted a lot before saying yes for it…I needed it because my last mobile, iphone 3GS was totally outdated and about to take its last breath any second, well it’s still on ventilator…I am the kind of person who doesn’t like to change mobile every now and then…once I will buy a phone I will use it until its outdated or broken like my Nokia N70, till last year I was using it until it got broken in an accident, though I have kept its bits and pieces with me…

But back to the point, why shall I carry an expensive mobile…when I can get same features in reasonable prices…I agree there would be some difference in hardware but software is more important…and even cheap mobiles are also providing the latest Android versions…than why shall I pay more???…I can’t buy that crap “they have money, so they are going for it”…

No, do the reality check…majority number of people who are using these mobiles and gadgets are youngsters who are from middle class families like you and me…they are getting so much addicted to these latest gadgets and mobiles that they want to have a new one every 6 months…they are least bothered that how their parents will manage, and if parents say no, some of them chooses wrong path…and parents who have money are not worried that their such a lenient attitude towards money is going to create a huge problem for them in future…your kid will be never able to respect anyone’s hard earned money…

I feel that your style, your creativity, your mind, your manners & etiquette’s decides your Status…No matter how many expensive cars you own, how many Louis Vuitton’s you have…if you don’t know how to behave socially and how to maintain social decorum…all your money is not even worth a penny…

I know if I want…I can buy 50000 bucks mobile in few seconds…but I don’t want to waste my husband’s hard earned money in some lame technology which is soon going to be outdated…instead I would prefer to go on vacation with him with those 50 thou bucks…which will give me beautiful memories for the lifetime… 🙂

We need to draw a line among us…because there is a difference between cost and worth…decide it yourself that really mobiles are worth spending 50000 bucks or no…

For me…IT’S NOT…till next time…

Posted from my new TAB,  ❤  AARYA

 

6 thoughts on “Mobile & Money…can you handle it???”

  1. “I feel that your style, your creativity, your mind, your manners & etiquette’s decides your Status…”
    you hit the nail right on here!!! enjoyed reading your post 🙂

  2. If you see my phone you´ll probably have a heart attack. It´s like a walkie talkie, but it does it´s function which is to send calls, receive calls and messages. Now a days though what I do recognise is that it will be much more useful in day to day life a phone that has internet applications and the rest. We do live in an information society and technical world as much as I hate it, so I´m catching up slowly. Doesn´t mean you have to buy the most expensive tablet or phone, just one that does the job in this new social media world.

    1. Well I guess we are on the same page…my cellphone has three functions same as yours:D
      But I recently bought a tab just to stay connected with social media 🙂
      Its not expensive but have latest andriod version and application…and that is more than enough 🙂

Would appreciate your opinions and views...I am here to listen...

