LETTERS…still the best way to express…!!!

I have written this post for Daily Prompt: Going Obsolete…

Technology has really advanced a lot in last decade…I cannot believe it at times that ten years ago call rates were damn expensive one minute used to cost 17 rupees on a cell phone but now you have internet access on your mobile phone 😀 …we have free message services like whatsapp and all…now we are more dependent on technology, we can live without food but none of us can imagine our lives without cell phones…

But in this race, we lost lots of old buddies but the one I missed the most is actually not a technology, it is a mode of communication which we used to have in olden days…LETTERS…

I know it is not a technology but I miss it a lot…I remember when I was in school, I used to write letters to my cousins and grandparents…and when my best friend left the town forever, we used to exchange letters…I still have those letters with me…in fact I got my first compliment for a letter that I wrote for my mother in law, I have mentioned it in my post PEN…PAPER & THOUGHTS

I was always fond of writing letters, my mum used to tell me that letters are best source of communication because there are lots of things in life that you cannot say but you can write…so whenever you are in doubt and having difficulty in saying out loud, WRITE A LETTER…well I used this trick on her, I told her about Vicky and me through a letter XD …well she didn’t take it very nicely though…

But jokes apart, I always feel that letter writing was one of the finest means of communication…do you remember that anxiety we used to have every time the Postman used to come…and when we don’t get the letter we were waiting for so desperately, GOSH…I used to get so mad at my mom, as if it was her fault that I didn’t get the letter…and times when you were not expecting any mail but suddenly you saw the letter of a long lost friend…WOW…Can’t forget those good old days…

But in today’s zip zap zoom life mobiles and internet has changed everything…nowadays no one is bothered to write two sentence message forget about the letter…people are so lazy that they have found shortcuts for everything like for great they use gr8, instead of saying I Love you they say I Luv u…now which sounds romantic…I swear if anyone tells me I love you in short form I will punch that guy in face…at times I feel this advanced technology has destroyed the true meaning of relations, now we have phone numbers still we don’t have the courtesy to talk or message, then we keep on complaining that people are selfish nowadays…and your messages and emails might go to trash, you can never reread calls but letters they are like memoirs…

Previously it was different…now we have easy and cheap way of exchanging letters E-MAILS, still we don’t write letters…GOD knows what’s wrong with the world???..six months ago, I got a letter from my BFF, we weren’t in touch for over year…but as soon as I saw her letter in my Inbox, I was humping and jumping on bed like a school girl…we exchanged our thoughts through letters for over a month before we started chatting on SKYPE 🙂

I don’t know about others but I still miss letters…that crumbled paper, smell of ink and dust, those sticky stamps and envelopes, smell of perfume and dry rose petals, and more importantly all those emotions and love…I used to hold my letters to my heart feeling that few days ago my loved ones were holding it…apart from GENTLEMAN, LETTERS are also GONE WITH THE WIND…

I do believe that what you cannot say in ten hour long conversation, you can say it all in a one page letter…

“Letters are above all useful as a means of expressing the ideal self; and no other method of communication is quite so good for this purpose.  In letters we can reform without practice, beg without humiliation, snip and shape embarrassing experiences to the measure of our own desires” ~Elizabeth Hardwick

Time for me to go…I just found old letters hidden in my treasure box…I am gonna move back in time…you guys HAVE A GREAT DAY…but don’t forget that there’s a pen, a paper and a person waiting for your thoughts/words…

Feeling Nostalgic…AARYA

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/going-obsolete/

7 thoughts on “LETTERS…still the best way to express…!!!”

Would appreciate your opinions and views...I am here to listen...

