Me and My Dreams…

Last weekend I was talking with my BFF (Best Friend Forever), the best thing about us, is this that we can talk about anything under the universe. All of a sudden…she asked me, “What will you want to do in your life at any cost?”

For sometime…I was speechless which is unlike me…I have never given thought to this question…After few stressful seconds later…I answered that “Aditya is the one thing that I always wanted to have and I got it” …I know I was not honest, its not that I don’t love him or he is my second priority, I have worked very hard for my relationship and for my marriage, I will go to any extent for him…but the question was meant differently…we both knew it, but we didn’t have answer…

She told me, “I am still figuring it out”…after a long pause, I told her…”Don’t worry, we are on the same page…we are still very young to know about what we want in life…from life…and being an Indian makes it more difficult, till the age of 24-25 we live with our parents and in some cases, we live together for the rest of the life. . .

We Indians have a very different upbringing, since childhood we are always surrounded by people…mom, dad,  grandparents, relatives, neighbors…the list is never ending. Love, caring, over protection, over pampering, are all part of our upbringing…and that is why we are closely bonded together. We are so used to obey our elders that we cannot say ‘NO’ to them…we are so busy with family…that our mind is always full of thoughts only about family…its always like ‘We..We..We..’ there is no place for an ‘I’

Just like that…one fine day we get married…within a year we have a baby (two year is the maximum time provided)…within next three years we have another one…then we spend rest of our life in fulfilling their wants, desires, dreams…as if spending on their education & marriage is not enough…one day we become old, then we die…but in those 60-70 years of life, we never get a chance to sit alone & think about ‘What I Want From My Life…’…”

She listened to me patiently, than replied…”To be precise, we are surrounded with expectations of others &  chain reactions of those expectations which ends with the end of life”…I looked at her for a long time & I saw my reflection not only in her eyes but in her thoughts too…

I kissed her goodbye and while walking towards my car, I realized what I want to do in life…I always wanted to write though, I have never tried my hand on writing…still I would love to give it a shot…So, here I am writing my very first blog…I don’t know how many people are going to read it or review it…but I am happy & proud of myself that finally I am doing something that I always wanted to do but never had enough courage for that…

It’s a new beginning…I hope you guys enjoy it…

4 thoughts on “Me and My Dreams…”

Would appreciate your opinions and views...I am here to listen...

